They call it the ‘quarter-life crisis’.

And as Wikipedia would perfectly describe it:

“It is a period of life ranging from twenties to thirties, in which a person begins to feel doubtful about their own lives, brought on by the stress of becoming an adult.”

Because you know, being an adult is IMPOSSIBLE.

It requires a lot of responsibility, a lot of commitment and a ton of effort in order to survive. I have my salary on my left and the monthly expenses on my right, I have to save up for my future family and retirement, I have to look for the right job and forcefully motivate myself to wake up each morning.

Well that’s a lot of to-do’s for someone who only has 25 years of experience on earth.

I can say that I already am in that moment in my life where I always question myself: Why do I even bother to get out of bed each morning? What motivates me to strive harder and perform better? How can I improve the life I have now? Where will I be in the next 5 years?

And honestly, those questions still don’t have answers.

I am in that stage where I feel like I’m driving without any direction or destination. I got so used to the routine that I don’t even know why I’m doing what I’m doing. I got so caught up in trying to become an adult that I don’t even know how to become one. I tend to worry for my future that I forgot the present stage I am in right now.

But you see, no one is an expert in living life. It’s a matter of trial and error. No one can say that he has perfected the art of existing or he has unlocked the code to a problem-free life.

Sorry to burst your bubble but sadly, fairy tale endings aren’t real. The guy doesn’t always get the girl, the employee doesn’t always get promoted and fairy godmothers can’t clean up our messes. We have responsibilities, we have problems and we have to deal with pain; that’s how life works.

For the past quarter of my life, I had my fair share of accomplishments and struggles. I have experienced how to love unconditionally and to love even when it doesn’t make sense. I have experienced countless rejections and moments where I was left all alone. I experienced what it was like to forget everything I got accustomed to and start anew. I experienced the cold and unusual feeling of stepping out of the boat and in to a land I know nothing about.

And to be honest with you, I’ve never felt so scared in my entire life.

But when it comes to independence, my migration experience has taught me a lot: Here I learned how to drive, how to pay bills, how to converse confidently in English and developed the ability to fight for my rights.

I realized how fast friends come and go and have acquired the skill in determining the real ones from the fake.

I recognized how important my family was for me and came to know them in a much deeper way.

Here, I unlocked my untapped potential in writing blogs and recording vlogs and turning my pain and struggle stories to God’s amazing story for the furtherance of His glory.

Here, I never would have realized that I would be so passionate and addicted to traveling and exploring places I have never been before.

It all started with a positive spirit and a heart that’s totally dependent on the Lord.

The Lord has been good and gracious to me, for He has allowed me to be joyful despite of everything that has happened to our family. I could have remained bitter and could have questioned His plan of moving us out of the Philippines, but then again I realized that everything He has allowed me to experience has a purpose.

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.” – Romans 8:28

Every pain, every struggle and every defeat has a purpose.

Every victory, every success and every happy occasion has a reason.

Whether good or bad, God had a lesson waiting for me at the end of each scenario.

To be honest with you, I am experiencing “The Quarter Life Crisis”, I struggle and worry about my future more than ever. But the Lord didn’t bring me this far just to leave me. And as I look back, my past 25 years has been a hell of a blast!

So I just wanna take this time to thank everyone who has been a part of my life. My own personal experience with you made me the kind of person that I am today.

I want to thank my family for always showing their love and support in all my endeavors and for keeping up with my bad decision making. hehe

And finally, to my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ who has been faithful and gracious to me for the past 25 years. He has been always available especially when I needed Him most.

I am still a work in progress and I am still 25% complete (that is if I live till 100). So be patient with me, God is not finished with me yet!

And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns. – Philippians 1:6

So yeah, this is it! Im officially joining the quarter life group! Haha!

Happy birthday to me!

Here’s to more adventures, more travel, more blogs and more awesome experiences! 🙂

Leave a Reply

